Seamus Hoyne Wins Outstanding Contribution to Sustainable Energy Award

Tipperary Energy Agency is delighted to announce that our Chairman, Seamus Hoyne has received the Outstanding Contribution to Sustainable Energy Award at today’s Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland (SEAI) Awards.

Over 20 Years Experience

Seamus has been involved in research and development in the energy sector since the nineties and has participated in over 25 EU funded research projects. From 1998 to 2012 he was the Managing Director of Tipperary Energy Agency. He currently leads the Development Unit at Limerick Institute of Technology and is the Principle Investigator for the Centre for Energy Efficiency and Deep Decarbonisation which is focused on supporting communities, enterprises, and industry to develop and engage in sustainable practices and processes.  He currently leads a team of over 25 people delivering 28 EU projects with a combined value of €35m.  In 2017 he was appointed as EU Green Ambassador and he assumed the role as Secretary General of FEDARENE in 2018, working with a network of 80 regions and energy agencies across Europe.  Recently he was successful in securing €7.5m in funding to establish a Digital Academy for the Sustainable Built Environment which seeks to transform the delivery of education and training on sustainable construction and sustainable energy.

Commenting on his win Seamus said: “I am incredibly honoured to win this Award from SEAI. I’m accepting it on behalf of the great teams of people I have worked with on the energy transition in Tipperary, Ireland and across Europe. During that time, I have seen the Tipperary Energy Agency emerge as a leading energy agency in Europe and it has been instrumental in delivering so much positive change.  It has been exciting to see the changes over the last number of years, where energy policy is being aligned with investment and funding into the sustainable energy sector.  We now need to ensure that all citizens play their part in realising the energy transition and build a sustainable future for us all”.

Seamus is only the second person to receive this award, following in the footsteps of another Tipperary Energy Agency Board Member, Marie Donnelly who received the award in 2019.